Transfer and Delete Price Lists

June 17, 2018 in Inventory Control

Purpose

This function can be used to ‘Copy’, ‘Move’ or ‘Delete’ a Price List and all the related product pricing details in the system. Both the ‘copy & move’ options take pricing from one Price List to another Price List for all products, or for specified Product Groups/Products in the inventory system. The ‘delete’ is run for one Price List at a time, and also has the ability for the user to nominate specific Product Groups/Products.

Any items held on the inventory ledger that are using ‘Standard Cost’ for Stock Costing on the target price list will be re-valued via a ‘Stock Value Maintenance’ transaction if their standard cost changes as part of the price list change. This stock value update occurs as soon as the user takes the ‘submit’ option for any stock location using the ‘target’ price list i.e. the update is immediate – it is not part of any End of Day or overnight process. For this reason it is important that you understand the ramifications of the price list changes you make with this tool before submitting them as there is no ‘automatic’ system function to reverse the transactions and stock values once they are created.

Data Input

­

Step 1 – Transfer Details

Select the transfer type to be used from the options available below:

  • Copy – copy prices from a ‘source’ Price List to a ‘destination’ Price List. This option has no effect on the source Price List details
  • Move – move prices from a ‘source’ Price List to a ‘destination’ Price List. This option actually moves the nominated prices and then the source prices are all DELETED
  • Delete – deletes the nominated price list and all related pricing details are removed (DELETED) and no copy takes place
From – Price List

Select the ‘From’ Price List you wish to use as the source for the pricing details.

To – Price List

Select the ‘To’ Price List you wish to use as the destination for the pricing details. Note that if you choose the ‘delete’ option no target price list is required.

Overwrite

Select this option to tell the tool to ‘overwrite’ any existing prices on the ‘destination’ price list with the details found on the ‘source’ price list. If you do not select this option, pricing that already exist on the ‘destination’ price list remain unchanged and only new prices are copied/moved over.
Return to the Top
­

Step 2 – Specific Group

Product Group

Enter any specific Product Groups that should be selected by the tool, in the form of a list. Use the ‘Add’ icon to add a group to the list. Use the ‘Delete’ icon to remove a group form the list.

When a list of groups is entered, only pricing for those groups are selected. If no groups are listed then pricing for all product groups within the price list specified are used.
Return to the Top
­

Step 3 – Specific Product

Product

Enter any specific Products that should be selected by the tool, in the form of a list. Use the ‘Add’ icon to add a product to the list. Use the ‘Delete’ icon to remove a product form the list.

When a list of products is entered, only pricing for those products are selected. If no products are listed then pricing for all products within the price list specified are used.

Return to the Top

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Ask a Question or Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: